Home » History

History

Mrs Harris’ Shop has been a landmark in Jervois Street, Torrensville for eighty years. It has been operated by three successive generations of women who married into the Harris family.

In 1932, Dorothy Harris built and opened the little general store after having worked a similar shop across the street. She ran the shop until her husband died in 1958. As well as undertaking much of the construction work on the shop, he was a talented painter. Dorothy was succeeded by her daughter-in-law, Rae, who closed the store in 1970 when, like hundreds of tiny suburban shops, it fell victim to the supermarket explosion.

Now, Rae’s daughter-in-law, Jo has re-opened the shop, this time as a gallery showcasing art and craft.

Some of the original sign writing that survived has been restored and the look continued in the new branding for the gallery. Artefacts from the original shop are often displayed in the rejuvenated space.

Even after having been closed for several decades, the little shop in Jervois Street is still fondly remembered by many locals as ‘Mrs Harris’ Shop’, so it seemed appropriate to continue to use this name in its new incarnation.

There is a sense of things having come ‘full circle’ with the rebirth of the little store and the role that art is once again playing in the environment.

Jo is particularly keen to support emerging and regional artists who might otherwise find it difficult to exhibit in the city.

To exhibit in Mrs Harris’ Shop, please contact us via the website or call on 0452 614 613.